Youtube Ratings Previewer

Shows the rating bar for every video so you can preview its rating before watching it. …

[[ This is a beta-like version of a work in progress extension, I wanted to put it out there before releasing the 1.0 version so I could incorporate some feedback right away. ]]

This extension allows you to preview the user rating for every Youtube video in every page by adding a small bar under the details like the one you are used to see for your current video. This gives you the advantage to know beforehand what the users think before clicking into trash (or Rick Roll).

You can hover the bar to see minimal extra details.

Options:
Visualization can be by either bars or numbers (see image).

8 pensamentos sobre “Youtube Ratings Previewer

  1. Hello Pedro, could you to make a simple userjs for this extension? I'm looking for an userscript that shows youtube ratings, and be functional using Opera. I tried to use the userjs from your extension (extracted from the oex file, in folder "include"), but it didn't show the ratings…I prefer using userjs than extensions, and I'm looking for some simple, I tested these: http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/117864 and http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/125056 but they didn't work on Opera.Thanks for your help, and thanks for developing the extension.

  2. Originally posted by cremoso:

    Hello Pedro, could you to make a simple userjs for this extension? I'm looking for an userscript that shows youtube ratings, and be functional using Opera. I tried to use the userjs from your extension (extracted from the oex file, in folder "include"), but it didn't show the ratings…I prefer using userjs than extensions, and I'm looking for some simple, I tested these: http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/117864 and http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/125056 but they didn't work on Opera.Thanks for your help, and thanks for developing the extension.

    I am sorry but I am unfamiliar with developing userjs, its limitations or possibilities.
    What I can say is that extensions are split in background and injected scripts and only the "background" can request outside stuff. So the file inside the "include" will never work alone because the actual request to youtube is outside (in the background.js file).
    If you know your way around js and know also how to develop userjs script, then should be easy to generate the final merged userjs script.

    I'm not sure in terms of memory management and efficiecy which is better. Why tending to userjs over extensions? Even opera is recommending the opposite shift.

  3. OK, but it's just that when you have an userjs, you may for example edit the "include" and "exclude" lines, or maybe some user may adapt them to other browsers, and sometimes I'm looking for some simple, without extra icons from the extensions, I think userjs are more able to control than extensions.Anyway thanks for answering, I hope your extension will be 1.0 soon. :up:

  4. Originally posted by cremoso:

    OK, but it's just that when you have an userjs, you may for example edit the "include" and "exclude" lines, or maybe some user may adapt them to other browsers, and sometimes I'm looking for some simple, without extra icons from the extensions, I think userjs are more able to control than extensions.Anyway thanks for answering, I hope your extension will be 1.0 soon. :up:

    Ah, I see. Indeed it allows for quicker control of the @ variables at the top. And yes, it is also more locked-down than a pure single-file script.Right in both arguments. But this one has few icons and stuff, right? 😀

    Maybe you can reverse engineer the guide!
    http://dev.opera.com/articles/view/converting-userjs-to-extensions/

    Gracias!

  5. Thanks for the advice, I really need to formally learn javascript… and to cause the "breaks" I guess it's because you need an "enter" in the middle of sentences too:sentence1<enter><enter>sentence2Saludos amigo portugués 🙂

Deixe uma Resposta

