Yahoo! Mail Ads Free

UserCSS to remove all advertisement panels and utilize their made available space, whenever possible, to expand existing panels.

Detailed changes:

a) All tabs: Removed the "Trending Now" banner at the top.

b) "What's new" tab:

– Removed the two rightmost banner ads around the "Trending Now" list
– Moved the "Trending Now" list to under the "Today" list.
– Removed the banner at the left
– Expanded the entire central area to occupy the space gained by removing the rightmost banners

c) "Inbox" tab:

– Removed the rightmost banner
– Removed the leftmost banner
– Expanded the entire central area to occupy the space gained by removing the rightmost banner
– Made the hovering row in the mail list auto-highlighted

d) "Contacts" tab:

– Removed the rightmost banner
– Expanded the entire central area to occupy the space gained by removing the rightmost banner
– Widened a bit the contact list, to allow longer names / addresses to properly display

IMPORTANT:
a) This extension applies to the NEW (beta) version of Yahoo! Mail.
b) UserJS must be activated (or else browser sniffing will disallow page opening) at opera:config#UserPrefs|BrowserJavaScript. Value must be set to "2".
c) If there is some slowness to load the pages from requests to "us.bc.yahoo.com", include this adress in Opera's built-in Content Blocker while inside Yahoo! Mail.

14 pensamentos sobre “Yahoo! Mail Ads Free

  1. Originally posted by joshjnz:

    Any chance you could get rid of that "stationary" list when writing an email. It covers part of the email. Very annoying.

    Which list do you mean? the left panel with "Inbox", "Conversations", "Drafts", etc?How is it covering your email? Is it overlapping?

  2. Originally posted by pedralm:

    Originally posted by joshjnz:

    Any chance you could get rid of that "stationary" list when writing an email. It covers part of the email. Very annoying.

    Which list do you mean? the left panel with "Inbox", "Conversations", "Drafts", etc?
    How is it covering your email? Is it overlapping?

    Ah, the one near the footer. Yes, I have it removed for the next version.Is that what you meant? That thin purple ribbon near the bottom?

  3. Originally posted by rafaelluik:

    I notice it doesn't really block the ads, it still load and then the extension hide them. Is that a limitation on Opera's current extension API?

    Indeed, this is a UserCSS just to hide them.For actually blocking them (from loading), you can use Opera's ContentBlock or another NoAds extension to include the ads addresses in the black list.It could theoretically be possible to do it, but the sources of ads keep changing all the time and I wouldn't be able to support that, so I leave that task to Ads blocking removal specific extension. 🙂

  4. I get it… But then this extension isn't useful for me as I don't actually need this extra space and was just using it thinking it could make the Y! Mail load faster.

  5. Originally posted by rafaelluik:

    I get it… But then this extension isn't useful for me as I don't actually need this extra space and was just using it thinking it could make the Y! Mail load faster.

    it now does 🙂

  6. Aloha,I Hate Yahoo's new improved layout with tabs. I use a netbook primarily and the ad takes about a third of the page and overlaps emails so I can't read right edge. Also when I compose a message the scroll bar extends off the page and I have to compose in my text editor if it is more than a small paragraph. Since I use the best browser in the world I got your ad blocker and it worked very well. (note: some how they detect it is there and still give you a one line google style ad at the bottom)Well I got a small victory and now the have basic html version for slow connections but ad blocker doesn't block the 1/3 page add and it still overhangs the email so I can't read the edge.I would post a picture of it but alas. or I can copy the elements from the page and post if you like.

  7. Originally posted by rufuswiw:

    Aloha,I Hate Yahoo's new improved layout with tabs. I use a netbook primarily and the ad takes about a third of the page and overlaps emails so I can't read right edge. Also when I compose a message the scroll bar extends off the page and I have to compose in my text editor if it is more than a small paragraph. Since I use the best browser in the world I got your ad blocker and it worked very well. (note: some how they detect it is there and still give you a one line google style ad at the bottom)Well I got a small victory and now the have basic html version for slow connections but ad blocker doesn't block the 1/3 page add and it still overhangs the email so I can't read the edge.I would post a picture of it but alas. or I can copy the elements from the page and post if you like.

    hello.
    i am VERY sorry for only noticing this now!!!!
    can you please direct me to how to enable the basic ymail version? i cant seem to find how to in the newest version, although before was very simple.
    thanks and sorry once again.

  8. Hi Pedro.I'm also looking to have your CSS in yahoo basic mail. I've switched it over to basic mail because on my netbook it makes a huge difference, e.g. instead of waiting 8 seconds to load an email it does it almost instantly. (My netbook hates javascript).To do this:Settings cog -> Mail options -> Switch now: BasicSave, Refresh the page.Doing so leaves the right 1/4 of my screen as a vertical banner ad hogging my attention. Can you fix it? Thanks

  9. Originally posted by antzus:

    Hi Pedro.I'm also looking to have your CSS in yahoo basic mail. I've switched it over to basic mail because on my netbook it makes a huge difference, e.g. instead of waiting 8 seconds to load an email it does it almost instantly. (My netbook hates javascript).To do this:Settings cog -> Mail options -> Switch now: BasicSave, Refresh the page.Doing so leaves the right 1/4 of my screen as a vertical banner ad hogging my attention. Can you fix it? Thanks

    hey! yeah I suppose so.
    my issue with Yahoo Mail is that they keep doing changes to it, it's so annoying!
    Are you using Opera Good (12) or Opera Bad (15+) ?

  10. Originally posted by antzus:

    Hmm, I wonder how long before they change things again?Haha I'm using Opera 12.15 again, after I had tried Opera Bad for a week.

    very sorry for the absurd delay.
    the extension is ready, I'm just updating the icon and the screenshot (they're still with the old Yahoo Mail design) and then i'll submit it, definetely before Sunday!

Deixe uma Resposta

