Exchange

Exchange is a streamlined currency converter for Opera.

Obtain seamless and in-line currency conversion to your own configured currency from every web page you visit.

Configurable:
1) Your own currency, to which the page values will be converted into
2) Sites subject to extension intervention: all, only white listed, all but black listed
3) Display appearance
4) Exchange rate update interval

NOTES:
a) Not tested in every web page. Some might work fully, some partially, some not at all. I will try to keep compatibility at all relevant pages whenever personally noticed or appointed to me.
b) Not extensively tested with all combinations of pages, currencies, visualization options, refresh rates, etc. This is made available as is, and I will try to fix it whenever personally noticed or appointed to me.
c) Exchange rates are acquired using an iGoogle’s widget API. Exchange rates are subject to the accurateness and update rates made available by it, and should therefore the results shown by this extension should serve only as an indicating result, and not a binding value, not replacing the eventual conversion rates used by each site.

22 pensamentos sobre “Exchange

  1. Hi,I'm from Brazil and I have some issues.I configured my local currency as "Brazilian Real (BRL)". When I access sites with other currencies, it works fine. But when the currency is already "Brazilian Real", it have some problems.In Brazil, it is: "R$", and it converts to BRL again, as if it was US$. And the other problem is, it converts just half of it… because, here, the separation of integer and the cents is done with "," and not ".".You can see what I'm saying in this website: http://www.fnac.com.br/index.htmlI don't know if I could explain exactly the problem, but you might see for your self on the website above.

  2. Oi ! Entendo perfeitamente! Vou continuar em inglês para o resto do mundo!You are right with the R$ misdetection, since the script assumes the $ refers to USD dollar, thus attempting to re-convert it. I will make exceptions when the $ has some prefix, and ignore convertions then!About the , versus the . this is also a known issue, as not all sites not only respect the norminal decimal marker, but my regular expression seems buggy.I am now working on a provider change from Google to another, and there will be a release for that before another for that fix.But it will be done!Valeu, bacana!Thanks again for pointing that out!ps: meanwhile you can blacklist that site so it doesn't convert for you.

  3. Originally posted by lordkiller:

    I configured my local currency as "Brazilian Real (BRL)". When I access sites with other currencies, it works fine. But when the currency is already "Brazilian Real", it have some problems.In Brazil, it is: "R$", and it converts to BRL again, as if it was US$.

    This issue has been fixed in version 2.0, now available!

  4. On this page: http://mozy.ie/about – on the left-hand side.Home solutions:for as low as €4.99 / $ 722.71 a month!Business solutions:starting at less than €5 / $ 7.24 a month–I'm pretty sure 4.99 Euro doesn't translate in $700+ dollars :), although the 2nd one works.

  5. Originally posted by tegehel:

    On this page: http://mozy.ie/about – on the left-hand side.Home solutions:for as low as €4.99 / $ 722.71 (€ 499,00) a month!Business solutions:starting at less than €5 / $ 7.24 (€ 5,00) a month–I'm pretty sure 4.99 Euro doesn't translate in $700 (€ 483,32)+ dollars , although the 2nd one works.

    Please check if this issue manifests itself with the latest release, 2.2.

  6. Any chance for alternative configuration of extension because it's not possible to configure under Swordfish. Where are is saved my currency?

  7. It configures under Swordfish the same way it did in previous versions.Go to your extension manager, access the settings menu for the extension, then hit "Preferences".

  8. Hi. I'm from New Zealand and I'd like all NZ sites to be blacklisted because obviously all NZ sites are already in NZ dollars. I've tried using *.co.nz/* and http://*.co.nz/* (.co.nz is the NZ domain) and many variations in-between but nothing seems to work. Some guidance in this issue would be of help. Thanks.P.S. Also when I open the preferences the local currency is set to the Tokelau dollar which is the same as the NZ dollar but the setting won't stay and the NZ dollar.

  9. Originally posted by joshjnz:

    Hi. I'm from New Zealand and I'd like all NZ sites to be blacklisted because obviously all NZ sites are already in NZ dollars. I've tried using *.co.nz/* and http://*.co.nz/* (.co.nz is the NZ domain) and many variations in-between but nothing seems to work. Some guidance in this issue would be of help. Thanks.P.S. Also when I open the preferences the local currency is set to the Tokelau dollar which is the same as the NZ dollar but the setting won't stay and the NZ dollar.

    Thank you on your comment. You are right in both your arguments. Black/White listing does not take wildcards (only full URLs).And when saving the currency, some currencies share the same code (as it seems it happens with Tokelay/NZ dollars, it gets the last one in the list when sweeping. Sinze T > N, it keeps the Tokelay.I'll work into fixing both issues that you mention!Thanks again!

  10. This extension is great, but I see one problem with exchange rates.It uses some "middle" rate, but this rate is lower than the one for which I will finally buy the foreign currency. So the converted value that I see in a shop is lower than the one I will pay with my credit card.It would be great if in options was a setting to manually define "correction", choose either value, or percent.Then the conversion would be more realistic for e.g. shops…On the other hand, setting the correction to a negative value would help people selling something.Example:The extension displays – EUR 20.00 (CZK 506.69) (Czech crown)But my bank sells me 1 EUR for 26.09 CZK.I would like to set correction – 1 EUR = the official rate + 0.75 CZK. Or + 3%.Then I would see more correct – EUR 20.00 (CZK 521.8).thank you for a very useful extension

  11. Originally posted by robertma:

    This extension is great, but I see one problem with exchange rates.It uses some "middle" rate, but this rate is lower than the one for which I will finally buy the foreign currency. So the converted value that I see in a shop is lower than the one I will pay with my credit card.It would be great if in options was a setting to manually define "correction", choose either value, or percent.Then the conversion would be more realistic for e.g. shops…On the other hand, setting the correction to a negative value would help people selling something.Example:The extension displays – EUR 20.00 (CZK 506.69) (Czech crown)But my bank sells me 1 EUR for 26.09 CZK.I would like to set correction – 1 EUR = the official rate + 0.75 CZK. Or + 3%.Then I would see more correct – EUR 20.00 (CZK 521.8).thank you for a very useful extension

    Hello!The extension is using Bloomberg's (http://www.bloomberg.com/markets/currencies/currency-converter/) information to acquire the current currency exchange values, it is not a middle value, it is a direct fetch from that provider.The extension updates its internal information between a given period (default to 60 minutes) and is subject to Bloomberg's own update system.Furthermore, each site has their own providers and their own update periods, which are likely retrieved by the time a purchase is made.Given all that, it is not possible to assume a constant (say, +3%) deviation, as the currencies change their rate by the second and there are too many middle-agencies that update it externally at different periods.So unfortunately it will not be trustworthy to introduce such deviation by hand. It'll likely fail at some point.See the extension as a good indication, rather than as an exact measure.

  12. Pedro, thank you for your prompt reply.Maybe there is a slight misunderstanding about the term "middle" rate I used. A bank has a rate for which it sells foreign currency (higher), and a rate for which it buys (lower), because the bank wants some profit from it. And then there is this "middle" rate which you acquire from bloomberg. I thing it is calculated as average of buy and sell rates on international markets…Using this bloomberg's value is the most precise YOU can do, but when I buy the foreign currency from my bank, I still have to pay something more as bank's profit. My proposal was to allow the user (me) to define in extension's settings some "correction" to the bloomberg's rate provided by you, so then the displayed conversion values would reflect MY REALITY more precisely. It would be up to the END USER to define this correction, either to + for buyers, or to – for people selling something. I suppose that percentage profits of banks are quite constant, so such a correction should be very "long lasting". With default value of 0 everything would be the same as now for unexperienced users.please consider my proposal once again

  13. I am very glad that you find my proposal useful and I apologize for the confusion from my first formulation.I don't want to upset you :yikes:, but I have still one more idea – USER DEFINED synonyms.I suppose that your extension work the way that it goes through the hltm code and identifies occurrences of specified strings like $, €, USD, EUR… It would be fine if USER could, in EXTENSION'S SETTINGS, add his own synonyms for those several currencies that you support. Because now the extension converts string e.g. "200 USD", but would not convert "200 dolarů" or "200 doláčů" (slang), which is often used in articles (Czech). I would like to be be able to add to the synonyms defined by you – $, USD, still another synonyms – dolarů, doláčů. I think it should be no problem for the engine, and because the set of supported currencies is limited, it should not cause any confusion to users.thank you for your work

  14. Originally posted by robertma:

    I am very glad that you find my proposal useful and I apologize for the confusion from my first formulation.I don't want to upset you :yikes:, but I have still one more idea – USER DEFINED synonyms.I suppose that your extension work the way that it goes through the hltm code and identifies occurrences of specified strings like $, €, USD, EUR… It would be fine if USER could, in EXTENSION'S SETTINGS, add his own synonyms for those several currencies that you support. Because now the extension converts string e.g. "200 USD", but would not convert "200 dolarů" or "200 doláčů" (slang), which is often used in articles (Czech). I would like to be be able to add to the synonyms defined by you – $, USD, still another synonyms – dolarů, doláčů. I think it should be no problem for the engine, and because the set of supported currencies is limited, it should not cause any confusion to users.thank you for your work

    Hello.

    Yes, that is perfectly possible.
    But the average user does not have good knowledge of regular expressions. But maybe for the advanced user it makes sense.

    I could try.
    There's already a huge pile of things that need to be done in this extension and I have still so many ideas for new ones!

    Argh! Priorities!

Deixe uma Resposta

