Clipper

Clipper is a Clipboard Manager for Opera.

Simply select any text in a page to have it stored and remain easily accessible for future use inside the Opera browser. The stored text will remain saved until you close Opera or explicitly clear that item from the items manager.

To view all your saved information, access Clipper from the extension badge, then copy the item back to the clipboard by clicking the item you wish, then Ctrl-C’ing it back!

Notes:

a) To allow the script to copy information from secure (https) pages, enable the setting in opera:config#UserPrefs|UserJavaScriptonHTTPS.
b) An easier copy-back from the manager is not yet possible. For security reasons copying into the clipboard through javascript is not allowed and Opera extensions aren’t supporting Flash as of this moment.
c) Only pure text is supported right now.

I find this quite useful when doing some web research of any sort. It distinguishes itself from desktop applications by running inside the browser, and from Opera’s Notes by being much more flexible and practical to use for short duration information. I’ll keep it updated as I feel it needs it or someone asks for something specific that improves the functionality.

===========================

CHANGELOG for V1.1:
– Items are now listed with more recent at the top
– Fixed bug with item borders as items were being erased
– Changed some nomenclature
– Hideable “Options panel” at the top for quick access to the global erase [requested], as well as a Enable toggle

@09/05/2011
NEW VERSION 2.0:

= v2.0 =
a) MAJOR: Persistent Storage. A mostly requested feature, items are now stored across sessions, even after Opera is closed.
b) MAJOR: Preferences page
c) Adjustable popup window size
d) Copy is now automatic or when using key combinations (requested)
e) Changed graphics and font and color scheme
f) Action buttons are now inside bar for easier and quicker access
g) Minor bugs corrected


16 pensamentos sobre “Clipper

  1. This is a very good extension. However, for some reason, I have trouble getting this extension to run on an XP machine (tried two separate machines). Win7, no problem. Have you encountered this problem?

  2. Originally posted by Turbotronic:

    This is a very good extension. However, for some reason, I have trouble getting this extension to run on an XP machine (tried two separate machines). Win7, no problem. Have you encountered this problem?

    Hi!Thanks for the information.I was unaware of that drawback, I have only have Win7 machines so I did not have a chance to test on XP.Unfortunately I don't have any XP environments to test on, the closest is Win2003. I will try that once I can, which will be no sooner than 2 weeks (I am abroad atm).Thanks you again (I will hopefully publish a rich update to this extension before the end of the year).

  3. Originally posted by pedralm:

    Originally posted by Turbotronic:

    This is a very good extension. However, for some reason, I have trouble getting this extension to run on an XP machine (tried two separate machines). Win7, no problem. Have you encountered this problem?

    Hi!Thanks for the information.I was unaware of that drawback, I have only have Win7 machines so I did not have a chance to test on XP.Unfortunately I don't have any XP environments to test on, the closest is Win2003. I will try that once I can, which will be no sooner than 2 weeks (I am abroad atm).Thanks you again (I will hopefully publish a rich update to this extension before the end of the year).

    Hi there! I am also on XP and I also have this problem. Nevertheless, this extension would really come in handy to me, so I'll be expecting that rich update. Thank you! :whistle:

  4. Originally posted by sergus:

    Thank you for this extremely useful extension!

    Glad you like it.
    I had wanted to update it but then for some reason I lost all my work. I have to restart it but meanwhile I am entertained with other extensions. If you have update ideas, I'd welcome them.

    Thanks!

  5. I just updated Opera from 12 1306 to 12 1317 and the contents of the clipboard were gone. That should be avoided somehow, though maybe on the stable Opera version it doesn't happen.Other that that I have no suggestions. It's perfect 🙂

  6. Originally posted by sergus:

    I just updated Opera from 12 1306 to 12 1317 and the contents of the clipboard were gone. That should be avoided somehow, though maybe on the stable Opera version it doesn't happen.Other that that I have no suggestions. It's perfect 🙂

    Thank you again. Behaviour in Opera Next is … unexpected. I dont know how it deals with local storage when updating, but there are some basic changes to the way Next operates.
    I have some ideas for updating, but I also have ideas for new stuff, we'll see how they come out.
    Thanks!

  7. Originally posted by sergus:

    I just updated Opera from 12 1306 to 12 1317 and the contents of the clipboard were gone. That should be avoided somehow, though maybe on the stable Opera version it doesn't happen.Other that that I have no suggestions. It's perfect 🙂

    From the lastest Opera 12 build:

    "A new snapshot that only resolves the known issue with extension preferences. If you installed builds between 12 build 1317 and this, you will loose the extension preferences and data create in these builds. Preferences from previous build will again become accessible with this new snapshot. With the known issue resolved: we’ll resume pushing builds through auto-update soon."

    Mistery solved! 🙂

  8. Ok, thanks. But strangely, I also recently installed Opera 11.6 on the same machine (in a separate folder, usb install) and the Clipper button disappeared the next day after installation, though I can see the extension IS installed. Can't get it back. I guess, it is because I have opera 11 and 12 installed at the same time. Probably need to do a new fresh installation I guess… Well, nothing is supposed to be perfect in this world 🙂

  9. Originally posted by sergus:

    Ok, thanks. But strangely, I also recently installed Opera 11.6 on the same machine (in a separate folder, usb install) and the Clipper button disappeared the next day after installation, though I can see the extension IS installed. Can't get it back. I guess, it is because I have opera 11 and 12 installed at the same time. Probably need to do a new fresh installation I guess… Well, nothing is supposed to be perfect in this world 🙂

    that is WAY strange. 11 as 12 (Next) can be together without any kind of problem, they use separate environments.
    never tested in the usb version, though.

    have you managed to recover the button?

  10. would it be possible for Clipper to store the last copied text in clipboard, so it would be possible to paste last selected text?something like AutoCopy for Firefox

  11. Originally posted by boger13:

    would it be possible for Clipper to store the last copied text in clipboard, so it would be possible to paste last selected text?something like AutoCopy for Firefox

    I will once the Clipboard API (http://www.w3.org/TR/clipboard-apis/) is mature. I don't know now but for the next version I will validate the support. Given the editor is from Opera, I have good hopes!

  12. It would also be good if selecting any clip in the list would automatically put the selected text (without the info) into the clipboard for pasting – maybe as an option. I sometime have to copy lots of clips into other programs, and (ctrl + v) < ((ctrl + c) + (ctrl + v)) 🙂

  13. Originally posted by sergus:

    It would also be good if selecting any clip in the list would automatically put the selected text (without the info) into the clipboard for pasting – maybe as an option. I sometime have to copy lots of clips into other programs, and (ctrl + v) < ((ctrl + c) + (ctrl + v)) 🙂

    I have plans to do that. I always wanted it to behave just like that.
    But I was limited by security restrictions. Only flash allowed writing into the clipboard and it was not working in the popup, probably locked.

    I will do it once the HTML5 Clipboard API specification is implemented. Until then, extra clicks are in demand.

    Thanks!

Deixe uma Resposta

